Srirangapatna also spelt as Srirangapattana, is a historic & religious city. It’s a cultural hub situated in the Mandya district of Karnataka, just about 13kms from Mysore.
A must see place on Bangalore-Mysore Highway. Here you will come across the entire town as an island enclosed by River Kaveri. This history-rich town was the capital of the Warrior-Kings Hyder Ali and his son Tippu Sultan – The Tiger of Mysore.
Fort : It is from here that Tippu charged at the British soldiers with his legendry sword. An obelisk in the Fort marks the place where he fell – betrayed by his own men. Within the Fort, is a Mosque and the Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple.
Ranganathaswamy Temple : The temple is one of the most important Vaishnavite shrines in South India. It is built by the Gangas in 9th century, later improved by the Hoysala and Vijayanagar kings. The temple is a tribute to Lord Ranganatha(Vishnu).
The Paschima Vaahini section of the Kaveri at Srirangapattana is considered especially sacred; the pious come from far and wide to immerse the ashes of the departed and perform obsequies to their ancestors in these waters.
Daria Daulat Bagh : Built in 1784, this Summer Palace was one of Tippu’s favourite retreats. It stands on a raised platform at a height of 1.5 metres. The Bagh is situated on the banks of Cauvery river has treasured the paintings, engraving, arms that depict the valiant victories and Struggles of Tippu Sultan. The structure made of teak, this Indo-Saracenic structure has ornate and beautiful frescoes. The corridors showcase murals which describe Tippu’s ordeals in the battlefield against the British.
Paintings : Records reveal that the palace is built by Moghul Governor Dilavar Khan, inspired Tippu to built this palace. The painting “The storming of Seringapattam” has been painted by Sir Robert Ker Porter in 1800 depicts the capture of capital on May 4th, 1799. It shows English officers, including General Baird, Sergeant Graham and Colonel Dunlop. Some of the paintings show the walls of Tippu’s fort, minarets of the mosque and gopuram of the Ranganatha Swamy temple in the background.
It is sad to see the deterioration of these precious pieces of art, due to shoddy maintenance, utter neglect. The paintings emphasize the glorious victory achieved by Haidar and Tippu over the English contingent led by Col. Bailey in the battle at Pollilur near Kanchipuram in 1780. Both Government and tourists need to share responsibility in restoring the monuments.
Museum showcases painting with Tippu wearing a turban, a striped shirt, a necklace and a belt adorned with precious stones with a sword attached. In 1792, G F Cherry painted the portrait. One more portrait was made by Jony Zoffany in 1780. There are pencil sketches of the Tippu’s sons, minister of the Nizam, his son, Krishna Raja Wodeyar III his maternal uncle, Nandi Raja all drawn by Thomas Hickey, an English artist between 1799 and 1801. The museum boasts of collection of coins of various denominations of those times and medals made of bronze, silver and copper issued by the English to commemorate their victory over Tippu.
Timings of Museum : 9 A.M. to 5 P.M. Admission fees : Rs.2/- per head and free on Fridays.
Masjid-E-Ala or Jamia Masjid : The mosque is situated near the Bangalore Gate of the fort built by Tippu Sultan. It is said that he performed the first imamath himself. It is standing on a high basement with an open court in the front and a covered veranda with a spacious prayer hall with the “Mihrab” on the west. There is an inscription mentioning the ninety-nine names of Allah and another records the date of its construction by Tippu in 1787 A.D.
There are 2 minarets that are double storied and octagonal in shape with pigeonholes surmounted by domes that add to the grandeur of the entire structure. There are 200 steps leading to the top of the minarets from where one can get a picturesque view of the Masjid.
Gumbaz : Mausoleum of Tippu Sultan, and his father Hyder Ali and mother Fathima Begam. This was built by Tippu Sultan between 1782-84, the Gumbaz, an imposing structure in the midst of the Lalbagh garden, stands on a high and wide platform with an open veranda of polished pillars all round.
The importance of Gumbaz lies in its well-shaped large dome, ivory inlaid doors, carved stone windows of fine workmanship and inscriptions. Tippu’s favourite Tiger stripes cover the walls. Inside are the tombs of Haidar in the center, his wife and his son Tippu on either side. In the veranda and on the platform are the other tombs of Haidar’s family members.
Colonel Bailey’s Dungeon : Named after Colonel Bailey who died here in 1780 A.D., this dungeon was used to imprison Captain Baird, Colonel Braithwaite, Captain Rulay, Frazer, Samson and Lindsay by Tippu Sultan. The dungeon measures 30.5 metres width 12.2 metres height and is built of brick and mortar.
Prisoners were chained to stone slabs fixed on its walls. During the siege of Srirangapatnam, one of the cannons rolled back, pierced the ceiling and fell into the dungeon. One can see them still lying there.
Place of Martyrdom : The place where Tippu Sultan’s body was found.
Distance : Located 13 km from Mysore, 127kms towards South-West of Bangalore Nearest Town : Srirangapatna Nearest Railway Station : Srirangapatna Nearest Airport : Mysore Airport.
- Sub Urban Bus Stand : 15Km
- Railway Station : 19km
- Airport : 26.5Km